Pat DiNizio Doesn’t Look Just Like Buddy Holly

Pat DiNizio has finally gotten around to cutting an album dedicated to Buddy Holly, the rock legend whose timeless originals inspired the frontman for New Jersey pop combo the Smithereens to quit his job as a garbage man and form the band 25 years ago. Pat DiNizio/Buddy Holly, due January 27 on Koch (in time to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Holly’s untimely death), finds DiNizio slowing down nine of his hero’s most achingly sincere ballads (“True Love Ways,” “Listen To Me,” “Words Of Love”) to a crawl, then adding baroque strings to carry the instrumental load. DiNizio’s gruff baritone is a surprisingly fine match for the best work of Holly, the bespectacled early rocker from Lubbock, Texas, who died in a plane crash in 1959 and is credited, along with the Everly Brothers, as being the principal influences on the Beatles. DiNizio finishes the set in upbeat fashion with two of Holly’s best-known rockers: “Peggy Sue” with strings and an a cappella doo wop version of “That’ll Be The Day.” Complete tracklisting after the jump.

“It Doesn’t Matter Anymore” from Pat DiNizio/Buddy Holly:

Pat DiNizio/Buddy Holly Tracklisting
1. Words Of Love
2. It Doesn’t Matter Anymore
3. Heartbeat
4. Well Alright
5. True Love Ways
6. Listen To Me
7. Raining In My Heart
8. Learning The Game
9. Everyday
10. Peggy Sue
11. That’ll Be The Day