In The News: Guided By Voices, Grizzly Bear, Broken Social Scene, Liars, Big Star, Paul Simon, Tom Petty, Randy Newman, Nickelback And More

Guided By VoicesHow Do You Spell Heaven, Robert Pollard’s 101st studio album, is out August 11 via GBV Inc … On August 18, RCA is issuing Grizzly Bear’s fifth LP, Painted Ruins … Sup Pop will release Beach House’s B-Sides And Rarities on June 30 … Hug Of Thunder, Broken Social Scene’s first album in seven years and featuring contributions from all 15 original band members, is out July 7 via Arts & Crafts … Liars return in August with a new album on Mute … Stax/Concord/Craft will issue Best Of Big Star, a new 16-track compilation that spans all three of Big Star’s LPs and features rare edits of a number of songs … Paul Simon’s The Concert In Hyde Park is out via Legacy as a two-CD/DVD or Blu-ray package on June 9 … UMe has released eight individual Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers albums—Damn The Torpedoes, Full Moon Fever, Hard Promises, Into The Great Wide Open, Let Me Up (I’ve Had Enough), Long After Dark, Pack Up The Plantation Live! and Southern Accents—as stand-alone vinyl titles … On July 7, Rhino will release vinyl versions of Nickelback’s Silver Side Up, The Long Road and All The Right ReasonsRed Hot: A Memphis Celebration Of Sun Records is a compilation benefiting St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital out June 16; co-produced by Luther Dickinson (North Mississippi Allstars) and Tamara Saviano, the album features Dickinson, Valerie June, Amy LaVere, Alvin Youngblood Hart and others … Rhino/Concord starts a year-long tribute to the Stax label with the Stax Classics series, beginning this summer with collections by Otis Redding, Carla Thomas, Sam & Dave and Booker T. & The M.G.’sDark Matter, Randy Newman‘s first album of new material since 2008, is out August 4 on Nonesuch… Sisters Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer will release Not Dark Yet on August 18 via Silver Cross/Thirty Tigers, featuring covers of songs by Nick Cave, Nirvana, Townes Van Zandt, Bob Dylan, Killers, Merle Haggard and more … Dead Cross’ self-titled debut will be released August 4 by Ipecac; the band features Dave Lombardo (Slayer), Mike Patton (Faith No More), Justin Pearson (Locust) and Michael Crain (Retox) … Also on August 4, Joyful Noise is issuing the debut solo album from Melvins drummer Dale Crover, The Fickle Finger Of Fate.