In The News: Smiths, Replacements, Tricky, Wolf Parade, Chris Bell, Superchunk, Josh Ritter, Sisters Of Mercy, White Buffalo And More

A remastered version of the Smiths‘ seminal The Queen Is Dead is out October 20 via Warner Bros. It comes in three formats: two-CD set (2017 master of the album and additional recordings); three-CD/one-DVD box (2017 master of the album, additional recordings, Live In Boston CD and a DVD with the remastered audio of the album and The Queen Is Dead: A Film By Derek Jarman) and five-LP box (2017 master of the album, additional recordings and Live In Boston) … The first official Replacements live album, the 29-track For Sale: Live At Maxwell’s 1986, is out October 6 on Rhino … Tricky‘s 13th album, Ununiform, is out September 22 via False Idols/!K7 … Cry Cry Cry, the fourth LP by Wolf Parade, is out October 6 on Sub Pop … On September 15, Omnivore will reissue I Am the Cosmos, the lone solo album from Big Star’s Chris Bell; the two-CD set features 10 more unreleased tracks than previous reissues and serves as a primer for The Complete Chris Bell, a six-LP vinyl-only boxed set out via Omnivore on November 24 … On August 25, Merge will reissue the self-titled debut album by Superchunk on vinyl and CD, both of which contain a digital download of Clambakes Vol 9: Other Music From Unshowered Grumblers—Live In NYC 1990Gathering, the ninth album from Josh Ritter, is out September 22 via Pytheas/Thirty Tigers … Some Girls Wander By Mistake is a four-LP vinyl-only boxed set, out via Rhino on September 1, featuring numerous early tracks by the Sisters Of Mercy … Earache will issue the White Buffalo‘s sixth album, Darkest Darks, Lightest Lights, on October 13 … Speaking of buffalo, Buffalo KillersAlive And Well In Ohio is out October 6 via Alive Naturalsound … Jack Johnson’s The Light Above It Too, will be released September 8 by Brushfire … On November 10, Rhino will issue A Brand New Me, a 14-track album featuring Aretha Franklin‘s vocals from songs like “Respect,” “A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)” and “Son Of A Preacher Man” atop newly recorded arrangements by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra … Concord will issue Signs, Jonny Lang’s sixth major-label release, on September 8 … D’Angelo’s Brown Sugar, from 1995, is getting the two-CD deluxe-edition reissue treatment on August 25 by Virgin/UMe … Out now on Craft is Mr. Luck: The Complete Vee-Jay Singles, a three-CD collection of Jimmy Reed‘s hits, b-sides and rarities … Steve Howe‘s Anthology 2: Groups And Collaborations, out August 11 via Rhino, features the guitarist’s work with the likes of Yes, Asia, GTR and others.