MAGNET Exclusive: Premiere Of Minor Characters’ “Pimps Of Freedom (Whores Of DC)” From “We Can’t Be Wrong”

Minor Characters return April 6 with sophomore album We Can’t Be Wrong. The follow-up to 2014’s Voir Dire, the nine-track LP finds the Chicago trio—guitarist/vocalist Andrew Pelletier, guitarist Shelby Pollard and drummer Thomas Benko, plus number of other musicians, including pianist/string arranger Joe Meland—back after a period of self-imposed downtime due to band burnout. The time away from one another led to Minor Characters deciding to not rush things in the studio. “It took us a year and a half to make this album,” says Pelletier. “During the middle of recording, America took a turn for the worst, and we had to write about it. What was originally going to be an EP about the difficulties of being in a band then turned into an LP about the difficulties of being an American in 2018—’Pimps Of Freedom (Whores Of DC)’ being about the daily updates we get about this administration and its cronies deregulating the shit out of the American government and handing it over to their filthy rich friends. Vulnerable people’s lives are in their hands, and they’re passing handouts to the wealthiest of us rather than the neediest. It’s whorish and abhorrent. But at the end of the day, it’s all so fucking entertaining. I can’t stop tuning in. All day long. Everyone I know can’t stop watching this madness. And what am I actually doing about it? Nothing. But this generation is turned up, and so we have to push back any way we can. It’s a monstrous, captivating live television show, and it’s in full fucking high-definition.” We are proud to premiere “Pimps Of Freedom (Whores Of DC)” today on Check it out now.