Essential New Music: Thom Yorke, Hot Chip, Yeasayer, Nas, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Joe Pug, Appleseed Cast And More

Thom Yorke ANIMA (XL)
This nine-track LP was written by the Radiohead frontman, produced by Nigel Godrich and features several tracks played live during the Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes performances by Yorke, Godrich and Tarik Barri.

The Appleseed Cast The Fleeting Light Of Impermanence (Graveface)
It’s the first album in five years from these typically ambitious Lawrence, Kan., vets, who play mature, intellectual post-rock for the aging emo crowd.

Drivin N Cryin Live The Love Beautiful (Drivin N Cryin)
These Southern-rock standbys have self-released their first LP in nine years, produced by Aaron Lee Tasjan, who’s worked with everyone from Jack White to Sean Ono Lennon.

Hollywood Vampires Rise (earMUSIC)
This is what happens when Johnny Depp, Alice Cooper and Joe Perry get together in the bat/man cave, write some songs and cover David Bowie, Johnny Thunders and Jim Carroll Band.

Hot Chip A Bath Full Of Ecstasy (Domino)
Produced by Philippe Zdar (Cassius, Phoenix) and Rodaidh McDonald (David Byrne, xx, Sampha), the seventh album from this London quintet is arguably its best.

Peter Lewis The Road To Zion (Omad)
The Moby Grape co-founder, who’s life story is ripe for a memoir, has issued his third solo album, produced by Oscar/Golden Globe winner John DeNicola.

Nas The Lost Tapes II (Mass Appeal/Def Jam)
The follow-up to 2002’s The Lost Tapes, this 16-song set compiles unreleased tracks from 2006’s Hip-Hop Is Dead, 2008’s Untitled, 2012’s Life Is Good and 2018’s Nasir.

Richard Reed Parry Quiet River Of Dust Vol. 2: That Side Of The River (Anti-/Secret City)
The Arcade Fire multi-instrumentalist returns with the companion to last year’s collection of Buddhist-leaning ambient-folk music about mortality, inspired by his stay in a Japanese monastery.

Preservation Hall Jazz Band A Tuba To Cuba (Sub Pop)
A Tuba To Cuba is the soundtrack to the documentary of the same name directed by T.G. Herrington and Danny Clinch, which showcases the New Orleans band’s 2015 visit to Cuba.

Joe Pug The Flood In Color (Nation Of Heat)
The singer/songwriter born Joseph Pugliese moved back home to Maryland and worked with Kenneth Pattengale (Milk Carton Kids) on the 10 songs that make up his first LP in four years.

Yeasayer Erotic Reruns (Yeasayer)
The fifth LP from this experimental Brooklyn trio was recorded at each member’s home studio and pushes Yeasayer’s pop sensibilities to the fore.

Yesterday Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Capitol)
The soundtrack to the feel-good hit of the summer features new versions of Beatles classics performed by the film’s star, Himesh Patel, as well as the original score by Daniel Pemberton.