MP3 At 3PM: Inspired & The Sleep


Beginning as a Max Greenhalgh solo project and evolving into a psychedelic indie/pop outfit, San Diego’s Inspired & The Sleep offers up “Fly Low.” Says Greenhalgh of the track, “I often find myself rather obsessed with the universal concept of possibility. “Possibility” being the notion that there is infinite opportunity at any given moment in whatever you are doing. It all depends on how aware you are of it. That makes up a great deal of what creativity means to me. It’s something that I’m constantly striving for in my work. ‘Fly Low’ represents the lack of said notion. It almost seems as though the human condition is, at times, designed to be afraid of fully committing to this concept of possibility.” Download “Fly Low” below.

“Fly Low” (download):

Film At 11: Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains

Fránçois Marry, the French frontman of Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains, has played with the likes of Scottish indie combo Camera Obscura, but his band concerns itself more with adding electronic elements and global sounds to the musical equation. E Volo Love, out February 14 via Domino, was recorded in ancient church in the countryside of France and features Tinariwen engineer Jean-Paul Romann. Watch the video for album opener “Les Plus Beaux” below.

Q&A With Tedeschi Trucks Band

Since the mid-’90s, Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks have both had successful music careers, she as an acclaimed singer/songwriter and he as an electrifying guitar player with his group and the Allman Brothers Band, among others. The two met on tour in 1999, married a couple of years later and had two children, but their hectic solo schedules often kept them apart. To rectify the situation, they formed the Tedeschi Trucks Band, an 11-member ensemble that recently released debut album Revelator (Sony Masterworks), which was recorded at the duo’s home studio. Knowing how much they like to do things together, we asked Tedeschi and Trucks to guest edit all week. We recently caught up with the two of them via email.

“Bound For Glory” (download):

Continue reading “Q&A With Tedeschi Trucks Band”

Q&A With Her Space Holiday

This week’s release of Her Space Holiday‘s 10-track, self-titled album marks the end of the one-man musical project that Marc Bianchi started back in 1996. Fittingly, HSH’s final album is also the first on the Austin-based Bianchi’s No More Good Ideas label. While he has some live dates set to support the LP, the genre-defying musician mostly plans for the album to be the closing statement from HSH, who over the past decade and a half has also remixed tracks by the likes of R.E.M., Bright Eyes, Elastica and the Faint. Bianchi can now add MAGNET guest editor to his already-impressive resume, as that’s what he’ll be doing all week. We recently caught up with him via email.

“Ghost In The Garden” (download):

“The Ballad Of Jan And Bess” (download):

Continue reading “Q&A With Her Space Holiday”

Q&A With Fountains Of Wayne

The great Fountains Of Wayne just issued their fifth album in a career that dates back 15 years. Sky Full Of Holes (Yep Roc) was recorded by the band—vocalist/guitarist Chris Collingwood, multi-instrumentalist Adam Schlesinger, guitarist Jody Porter and drummer Brian Young—in New York City at the studio Schlesinger co-owns, and it may be the quartet’s best effort to date. Fountains Of Wayne is currently on tour, but Collingwood and Schlesinger will also be guest editing all week. We recently caught up with the dynamic duo via email.

Continue reading “Q&A With Fountains Of Wayne”

Q&A With Richard Buckner

This week, singer/songwriter Richard Buckner releases Our Blood (Merge), his first new music since 2006’s Meadow. The nine-track LP was recorded by Buckner at his upstate New York home studio with pedal-steel guitarist Buddy Cage (New Riders Of The Purple Sage) and drummer Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth). Buckner kicks off a co-headlining tour with labelmate David Kilgour (the Clean) on August 16 in Los Angeles. In the meantime, Buckner will be guest editing all week. We recently caught up with him via email.

“Traitor” (download):

Continue reading “Q&A With Richard Buckner”

Q&A With The Ladybug Transistor

The Ladybug Transistor formed in Brooklyn in 1995, and frontman Gary Olson has been the band’s sole constant member. Clutching Stems (Merge) is the group’s seventh album and the first to be made following the 2007 asthma-related death of drummer San Fadyl. Since, the band’s lineup has solidified behind Olson, featuring Kyle Forester, Julia Rydholm, Mark Dzula, Eric Farber and Michael O’Neill. The Ladybug Transistor will be guest editing all week. We recently caught up with Olson via email.

“Clutching Stems” (download):

Continue reading “Q&A With The Ladybug Transistor”