In The News: Thom Yorke, Laura Jane Grace, Ty Segall, Twilight Sad, Charles Bradley, Dead Can Dance, Peter Bjorn And John, Saves The Day, Laibach And More

Thom Yorke’s Suspiria (Music For The Luca Guadagnino Film) is just that, 25 new compositions the Radiohead frontman wrote for the Oscar-nominated director’s remake of Dario Argento’s 1977 cult classic. It’s out October 26 on XL and features the London Contemporary Orchestra And Choir as well as Yorke’s son Noah on drums … Bought To Rot is the debut album from Laura Jane Grace & The Devouring Mothers, out November 9 courtesy of our friends at Bloodshot … John Lennon, Grateful Dead, Sparks, Amon Düül II, Funkadelic and War are among the artists paid tribute to on Ty Segall‘s new covers album, Fudge Sandwich (In The Red, October 26) … The Twilight Sad‘s fifth LP, It Won/t Be Like This All The Time, is out via the band’s new Rock Action label on January 18 … Black Velvet, Charles Bradley‘s fourth and final album, is out via Dunham/Daptone on November 9, four days after what would’ve been Bradley’s 70th birthday … Dionysus is the first LP from the legendary Dead Can Dance in six years, and it’s out November 2 on PIAS … Peter Bjorn And John return with their eighth full-length studio album, Darker Days, on October 19 … Number nine, number nine, number nine: On October 26, Saves The Day will release its ninth album, the nine-track 9, via Equal Vision … The hills are alive with Laibach‘s The Sound Of Music (Mute) on November 23 … Jeff Goldblum And The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra will release The Capitol Studios Sessions (Decca) on November 9, featuring guest vocalists Imelda May, Haley Reinhart and Sarah Silverman … On October 26, Domino will issue Julia Holter‘s Aviary … Beg Your Pardon, the third LP from MAGNET fave SAVAK, is out November 9 via Ernest Jenning … Evolution marks album number seven from Disturbed, out October 19 on Reprise … Mercy Union—featuring Jared Hart (Scandals) and Benny Horowitz (Gaslight Anthem)—will release its debut album, The Quarry (Mt. Crushmore), on October 19 … Mick Harvey & Christopher Richard Barker have collaborated on The Fall And Rise Of Edgar Bourchier And The Horrors Of War, out November 9 on Mute … Laura Gibson will release fifth album Goners on October 26 via Barsuk … Meg Baird And Mary Lattimore join forces for Ghost Forests, out November 9 on Three Lobed … Doug Paisley‘s Starter Home is out November 2 via No Quarter … On November 9, Easy Eye Sound will issue Mockingbird, the 14th album from bluegrass legends the Gibson Brothers.

MAGNET-Approved New Releases That Are Out Now
All Them Witches Sleeping Through War (New West)
Atmosphere Mi Vida Local (Rhymesayers)
Current 93 The Light Is Leaving Us All (self-released)
Cursive Vitriola (15 Passenger)
Matthew Dear Bunny (Ghostly International)
The Dodos Certainty Waves (Polyvinyl)
Foxhole Well Kept Thing (Burnt Toast Vinyl)
Great Lake Swimmers The Waves, The Wake (Nettwerk)
Vince Guaraldi It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (Craft)
High On Fire Electric Messiah (eOne)
José James Lean On Me (Blue Note)
Paul Kelly Nature (Cooking Vinyl)
Kinski Accustomed To Your Face (Kill Rock Stars)
Greg Laswell Next Time (self-released)
Loretta Lynn Wouldn’t It Be Great (Legacy)
Lynyrd Skynyrd Live In Atlantic City (earMUSIC)
Lyrics Born Quite A Life (Mobile Home)
Mount Eerie (after) (P.W. Elverum & Sun)
Marissa Nadler For My Crimes (Sacred Bones/Bella Union)
Graham Parker Cloud Symbols (100%)
Richard Reed Parry Quiet River Of Dust Vol. 1 (Anti-)
Suicidal Tendencies STill Cyco Punk After All These Years (Suicidal)
Moses Sumney Black In Deep Red, 2014 EP (Jagjaguwar)
Supersuckers Suck It (Acetate)
Swamp Dogg Love, Loss, And Auto-Tune (Joyful Noise)
Various Artists A Star Is Born Soundtrack (Interscope)
The Watson Twins DUO (self-released)
We Were Promised Jetpacks The More I Sleep The Less I Dream (self-released)
Rita Wilson Bigger Picture (Sing It Loud)

In The News (Reissues And Collections Edition): Pixies, Barry Adamson, Terry Callier, House Of Love, A Certain Ratio, Alex Chilton & Peter Holsapple And More

Come On Pilgrim…It’s Surfer Rosa (4AD) compiles the first two Pixies releases (1987 mini-album Come On Pilgrim and 1988’s Surfer Rosa); it’s out now (as three-CD and three-LP boxed sets) and later (in November on clear vinyl complete with a hardback book) … On October 26, Memento Mori (Anthology 1978-2018) celebrates 40 years of the great Barry Adamson; the 17-track compilation is available via Mute on CD and limited-edition double vinyl … Terry Callier‘s The New Folk Sound Of Terry Callier gets the 50th-anniversary treatment via Craft Recordings on October 19 with five previously unreleased tracks … Town Burned Down (ATO), recorded back in 1990, is the first official release from Adam’s House Cat, Mike Cooley and Patterson Hood’s pre-Drive-By Truckers band … We’ve never been shy about the love we house for House Of Love, and now our friends at Cherry Red have released a 30th-anniversary edition of the band’s self-titled debut (five-CD hardback edition and two-LP version) that’s been remastered and expanded with non-album tracks, demos, radio sessions, live material and more … Also on Cherry Red is Def Comms 86-18, a four-CD collection from Pop Will Eat Itself that includes tracks from all the band’s albums (including the “lost” one), remixes and rarities … acr:set (Mute) is a career-spanning compilation from A Certain Ratio with two new tracks, due October 12 … The Death Of Rock: Peter Holsapple Vs. Alex Chilton (Omnivore) compiles songs by Alex Chilton (Big Star) and Peter Holsapple (dB’s) recorded separately by the two gentleman 40 years ago at Memphis’ Sam Phillips Recording Service … Eagles co-founder Glenn Frey and songwriting partner JD Souther released a self-titled album in 1969 as Longbranch/Pennywhistle, and it’s just made its CD debut and return to vinyl thanks to Geffen/UMe … Whitesnake gets Unzipped on October 19 courtesy of Rhino, with a set of the hard-rock band’s acoustic and unplugged performance from the past two decades; it comes as a five-CD/DVD set, as well as a single CD, double CD and double LP.