In The News: Decemberists, Yo La Tengo, Tom Waits, Dr. Dog, Hot Snakes, of Montreal, Sea And Cake, Oneida, Josh Rouse, Mount Eerie And More

The Decemberists return March 16 with I’ll Be Your Girl (Capitol). Colin Meloy and Co. say they embraced influences such as Roxy Music and New Order on the album, produced by John Congleton (St. Vincent, Lana del Rey), and it definitely shows. The band kicks off a world tour in support of I’ll Be Your Girl on March 22 … Yo La Tengo (three MAGNET cover appearances) is back March 16 with There’s A Riot Going On (Matador), and since we’ve been happily living with it for the past couple months, we can tell you it’s one of the trio’s most adventurous to date … The first seven Tom Waits (two MAGNET cover appearances) albums—1973’s Closing Time, 1974’s Heart Of Saturday Night, 1975’s Nighthawks At The Diner, 1976’s Small Change, 1977’s Foreign Affairs, 1978’s Blue Valentine and 1980’s Heartattack & Vine—will be reissued on CD by Anti- on March 23; all will be also available on 180-gram vinyl, starting March 9 with Closing TimeCritical Equation is the new album from Dr. Dog (one MAGNET cover appearance), and it’s out April 27 on Thirty Tigers … The more things change, the more they remain the same: The last time MAGNET fave Hot Snakes released an album, there was a first-term madman in the White House and our Philadelphia Eagles were on their way to the Super Bowl; 14 years later, there’s a first-term madman in the White House, the Eagles are on their way to the Super Bowl, and Hot Snakes will issue Jericho Sirens on March 16 via Sub Pop … On March 9, Polyvinyl will release of Montreal‘s 15th album, White Is Relic/Irrealis MoodThe Sea And Cake is back May 11 with Any Day (Thrill Jockey), the band’s first album in six years … Also back for the first time since 2012 is Oneida; Romance is out March 9 via Joyful Noise … Mount Eerie follows last year’s stellar and heartbreaking A Crow Looked At Me with Now Only (P.W. Elverum & Sun, March 16) … Josh Rouse‘s Love In The Modern Age is out April 13 on Yep Roc … Violence is the sixth album from Editors, and Play It Again Sam will issue it March 9 … April 13 sees the return of Mouse On Mars via Dimensional People (Thrill Jockey), which features guest rodents such as Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Aaron and Bryce Dessner (National), Zach Condon (Beirut), Spank Rock, Swamp Dogg, Amanda Blank and Sam Amidon … Tracey Thorn‘s new record, Record, is out March 2 on Merge … Beasts Of Burgundy (Southern Broadcasting, March 23) is the first album from Squirrel Nut Zippers in 18 years … I Don’t Run, the sophomore album from Hinds, is out April 6 via Mom + Pop … Jukebox The Ghost‘s Off To The Races is out March 30 on Jukebox The Ghost/Caroline … Given the Damned has released a new album about every nine years over the past three decades, it’s not surprising Dave Vanian, Captain Sensible and Co. return April 13 with Evil Spirits (Search And Destroy/Spinefarm) … Nonpareils (a.k.a. ex-Liar Aaron Hemphill) will release debut album Scented Pictures on April 6 via Mute … Field Report‘s Summertime Songs is out March 23 on Verve Forecast.