John Prine, The Lone Bellow And Shannon Shaw Bring Holiday Cheer To WFUV’s Annual Benefit

John Prine

WFUV just had its Holiday Cheer For FUV concert at NYC’s Beacon Theatre. The 14th annual event, a fundraiser for Fordham University’s long-running, noncommercial, member-supported radio station, featured John Prine, the Lone Bellow and Shannon Shaw (Shannon And The Clams). MAGNET photographer Wes Orshoski was tuned in left of the dial.

The Lone Bellow
Shannon Shaw
WFUV program director Rita Houston
John Prine’s “Picture Show”

Best Of 2018: Hard Rock

MAGNET’s Matt Ryan picks the best hard-rock releases of the year

1 Orange Goblin The Wolf Bites Back (Candlelight)
2 Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats Wasteland (Rise Above)
3 River Cult Halcyon Daze (Magnetic Eye)
4 Earthless Black Heaven (Nuclear Blast)
5 ASG Survive Sunrise (Relapse)
6 Fu Manchu Clone Of The Universe (At the Dojo)
7 Windhand Eternal Return (Relapse)
8 Plainride Life On Ares (Ripple)
9 Sundrifter Visitations (Small Stone)
10 Monster Magnet Mindfucker (Napalm)

On Its 50th Anniversary, Ray Davies Revisits The Kinks’ “The Village Green Preservation Society”: The Village Green

BMG just released the 50th anniversary edition of The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society, hands-down one of the best and most influential rock albums ever. Nine years ago, when Kinks main man (and MAGNET hero) Ray Davies guest edited, he revisited the LP’s title track and provided insight into its nostalgic reflection on British culture past. So for the next two weeks, we’re going to revisit Davies’ commentary on this classic album’s centerpiece. And as always, god save the Kinks.

RAYDAVIESlogoIn light of his overwhelming back catalog of songs that can stop people dead in their tracks, Ray Davies must be considered in the same breath as Lennon/McCartney, Brian Wilson, Bob Dylan, Pete Townshend and Jagger/Richards as the preeminent songwriters of the ’60s rock revolution. Davies refused to Americanize his sound like all the rest, remaining true to his “pint of bitter, 20 Benson & Hedges and a packet of crisps” English roots. And no Kinks album better voices that traditional spirit than The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society, a record that sold poorly when released in 1968 but is now appreciated as a Kinks klassic. Davies has even breathed new life into Village Green with The Kinks Choral Collection (Decca), newly recorded versions of Kinks gems backed by the Crouch End Festival Chorus. Davies will be guest editing all this week. Read our Q&A with him.


“The Village Green Preservation Society”:

Davies: As “The Village Green Preservation Society” is supposed to be about things I want to preserve, I thought I would try that song. The Village Green. My imaginary lost youth. Innocent. Naïve. And full of promise and hope for the future. It is always in my mind. A real one exists, but I only take the people I love there. All my fans know where it is.