Flight Of The Condo Fucks, Er, Yo La Tengo


If you are to believe the Matador blog, the Condo Fucks are a legendary New London, Conn., trio. But we know that’s not true, primarily because there’s never been a good band from Connecticut (well, OK, Miracle Legion), let alone a legendary one. We also know it’s not true because the Condo Fucks share the same three members as Hoboken, N.J.’s Yo La Tengo. On March 10, Matador is releasing Fuckbook, an 11-song album of covers of songs by the likes of the Kinks, Richard Hell, the Troggs, the Flamin’ Groovies and more. (YLT issued a mostly covers album in 1990 called Fakebook. So, Fakebook, Fuckbook—get it?) What’s most striking about Fuckbook is that it sounds like Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley and James McNew are having a blast playing these songs, which must be why they chose to release it under an alias, because everybody knows the first rule of Yo La Tengo is you do not have fun in Yo La Tengo. (We like to kid YLT.) Complete Fuckbook tracklisting after the jump. To read the interview Ira “Kid Condo” Kaplan did with the Kinks’ Ray Davies for us last year, click here. And we just got word that a new YLT album is due this fall.

“What’cha Gonna Do About It” from Fuckbook:

Fuckbook Tracklisting
1. “What’cha Gonna Do About It” (Small Faces)
2. “Accident” (Electric Eels)
3. “This Is Where I Belong” (Kinks)
4. “Shut Down” (Beach Boys)
5. “Shut Down Part 2” (Beach Boys)
6. “With A Girl Like You” (Troggs)
7. “The Kid With The Replaceable Head” (Richard Hell)
8. “Dog Meat” (Flamin’ Groovies)
9. “So Easy Baby” (Zantees)
10. “Come On Up” (Young Rascals)
11. “Gudby T’Jane” (Slade)