Here Comes Your Fan: Pete Yorn Releases Surprise Covers Album

Pete Yorn has a history of covering songs that had an impact on him as a songwriter, including selections by Bruce Springsteen, the Smiths, David Bowie, Chris Bell, Warren Zevon, Buzzcocks and New Order. He’s also been teasing fans with the prospect of a covers album for years now. And while it doesn’t seem like it takes a lot to make Pete Yorn laugh, it took a global pandemic for him to make Pete Yorn Sings The Classics.

Out today on Bandcamp (with release dates on other platforms yet to be decided), the 10-track Pete Yorn Sings The Classics finds the Jersey boy tackling songs by the likes of Bob Dylan, the Pixies, Simon & Garfunkel, the Stones Roses and the Velvet Underground. (Full tracklist below.)

For more insight into Yorn’s musical influences, watch our MAGNET television episode with him from last year, where he discusses the Smiths, Springsteen, Ride and more:

Pete Yorn Sings The Classics Tracklist
1) “Here Comes Your Man” (Pixies)
2) “Lay Lady Lay” (Bob Dylan)
3) “Theme From Mahogany (Do You Know Where You’re Going To)” (Diana Ross)
4) “They Don’t Know” (Kirsty MacColl)
5) “More Than This” (Roxy Music)
6) “Surfer Girl” (Beach Boys)
7) “Ten Storey Love Song” (Stone Roses)
8) “I Am A Rock” (Simon & Garfunkel)
9) “New Age” (Velvet Underground)
10) “Moon River” (Audrey Hepburn)