MAGNET Television: Q&A With Matthew Logan Vasquez (Delta Spirit)

Delta Spirit took an extended break following 2014’s Into The Wide and all the touring and promotion that comes after releasing an album. Sometimes, it ain’t easy being in a rock ‘n’ roll band and you need time away from each other to hit the reset button. For the five members of Delta Spirit (who are now spread out across North America), that meant pursuing musical projects away from their main gig. But the quintet—vocalist/guitarist Matthew Logan Vasquez, multi-instrumentalist Kelly Winrich, guitarist Will McLaren, bassist Jonathan Jameson and drummer Brandon Young—came back refreshed and ready to make fifth album What Is There (New West). Produced by the band, mixed by studio guru Tchad Blake (check your record collection) and dedicated to the late, great Richard Swift, What Is There is Delta Spirit’s most ambitious LP yet.